DynaMed Plus nyt Terveysportissa / DynaMed Plus is now available

Oletko jo huomannut uuden tiedonlähteen? DynaMed Plus nyt Terveysportissa!

DynaMed Plus on laaja erikoisalakohtainen, näyttöön perustuva tietokanta kliinisen päätöksenteon tueksi. Se sisältää kustakin aiheesta tiiviin yleiskatsaus- ja suosituskappaleen (Overview and Recommendations) sekä tiivistelmät systemaattisten katsausten ja laadukkaiden alkuperäisartikkeleiden tuloksista.

Löydät uudistuneen DynaMed Plus –tietokannan Terveysportin etusivulta.

Terveysportin uutiset tietävät kertoa myös, että ”Loppuvuoden aikana DynaMed integroidaan tiiviimmin osaksi Lääkärin tietokantoja (LTK) samassa yhteydessä, kun LTK:n ulkonäkö uudistuu sivun vasempaan reunaan tulevalla linkkipalkilla. LTK:n artikkeleihin rakennetaan linkki DynaMedin vastaavaan sisältöön, ja DynaMedin artikkelit tulevat mukaan myös sivun oikean reunan hakuosumaluetteloon.”

Tutustu!

dynamed-logo
DynaMed Plus is now available!

Looking for evidence-based answers to your clinical questions? Try DynaMed Plus today.

DynaMed Plus is the next-generation clinical information resource. DynaMed Plus provides evidence-based content written by a world-class team of physicians who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis to help clinicians and other users in their daily practice.

DynaMed Plus is available via Terveysportti.

Lisätietoja / more information: nelli(a)uef.fi

Kirsi Salmi
tietoasiantuntija / information specialist

Mainokset

Virhe JBI CoNNECT+ -viitteiden viemisessä RefWorksiin / Error in exporting references from JBI CoNNECT+ to RefWorks

Viitteiden suorasiirto JBI CoNNECT+ -tietokannasta (Ovidin käyttöliittymä) RefWorks-viitteidenhallintajärjestelmään ei toimi oikein, vaan tuottaa tyhjiä viitteitä. Ovid selvittää ja korjaa virhettä.

The direct export of references from JBI CoNNECT+ database (Ovid user interface) to RefWorks reference management software results in blank references. Ovid is currently working on rectification.

Vuodenvaihteen e-aineistomuutoksia / Changes in databases: Agricola, Medline, PsycARTICLES

ProQuestin monialaisen tietokantapaketin konsortiotilaus on uudistettu vuoden vaihteessa. Maataloustieteiden viitetietokanta Agricola ei valitettavasti enää sisälly kansallisen elektronisen kirjaston FinElibin neuvottelemaan pakettiin.  Paketista jää pois myös lääketieteen Medline-tietokanta, mutta sen käyttö jatkuu toisen välittäjän (OVID) kautta.

Psykologian PsycARTICLES-lehtitietokannan välittäjä vaihtuu kilpailutuksen seurauksena. OVIDin käyttöliittymässä toiminut palvelu on jatkossa käytettävissä ProQuestin käyttöliittymässä.

Lisätietoja: nelli@uef.fi

**********************
The consortial subscription of the ProQuest’s multidisciplinary database package has been renewed. Unfortunately, the reference database Agricola (mainly agriculture) is no longer included into the package negotiated by the Finnish National Electronic Library FinElib. In addition, the medical database Medline is no longer included into the subscribed package, but you can still access it via another supplier (OVID).

The supplier of the psychological journal database PsycARTICLES has changed. From now on, the PsycARTICLES can be used on ProQuest’s interface instead of OVID’s interface.

For more information: nelli@uef.fi

Kaarina Meriläinen
Tietoasiantuntija / Information Specialist
Verkkoresurssipalvelut / Online Resource Services

 

E-aineistojen tilausmuutoksia / Changes to the e-resources subscriptions

Vuoden 2014-2015 vaihteessa tulee seuraavia muutoksia Itä-Suomen yliopiston e-aineistotilauksiin:

Westlaw International
Oikeustieteen Westlaw International  -palvelu korvataan ruotsalaisella Karnov juridik -palvelulla. Uudesta palvelusta tiedotetaan tarkemmin tuonnempana.

Universitetskaja Biblioteka Online (venäjänkielinen kirjallisuus)
Rusgate (Venäjä-tiedon uutis- ja markkinointipalvelu)
Molemmat tilaukset joudutaan lakkauttamaan vähäisen käytön vuoksi.

OECD.Stat  (OECDiLibrary)
Tilastopalvelun tilaus perutaan vähäisen käytön vuoksi. Tilalle hankitaan palvelusta osio OECD Health Data (OECD Health Statistics).

MUSE Premium Collection (Project MUSE)
Yhteiskuntatieteiden ja humanististen tieteiden e-aineistontuottajalta MUSElta tilataan jatkossa Premium-lehtikokoelman asemesta sitä suppeampi Standard-lehtikokoelma, joka käyttötilastojen valossa näyttäisi riittävän yliopistomme tarpeisiin.

BROCKHAUS Wissensservice
Uutena online-palveluna hankitaan kokeiluluonteisesti käyttöön saksankielinen ensyklopedia BROCKHAUS Wissensservice. Palvelusta tiedotetaan tarkemmin tuonnempana.

Ebook Academic Collection (EBSCO)
Vuoden 2015 loppuun saakka on kokeilutilauksena jatkuvasti karttuva tieteellisten e-kirjojen paketti, joka sisältää noin 130 000 e-kirjaa eri tieteenaloilta. E-kirjapaketista tiedotetaan myöhemmin lisää.

Lisätietoja: nelli@uef.fi

***********************

The following changes will take place in the University of Eastern Finland’s e-resources at the turn of the year 2014-2015:

Westlaw International
Judicial service Westlaw International will be replaced with the Swedish Karnov juridik service. More news on the new service will be provided later on.

Universitetskaja Biblioteka Online (Russian literature)
Rusgate (Russian news and market information)
Both subscriptions will be terminated due to low usage rates.

OECD.Stat  (OECDiLibrary)
The subscription of statistical online service OECD.Stat will be terminated due to low usage rates. Instead of the whole service, one database OECD Health Data (OECD Health Statistics) will be subscribed.

MUSE Premium Collection (Project MUSE)
Instead of the Premium journal collection, a more limited Standard journal collection will be subscribed from the e-resources provider MUSE in the fields of humanities and social sciences. According to the usage rates it would seem sufficient for the needs of our university.

BROCKHAUS Wissensservice
German encyclopedia BROCKHAUS Wissensservice will be subscribed on a trial basis as a new online service. More news on the service will be provided later on.

Ebook Academic Collection (EBSCO)
On a trial basis, the continuously growing academic e-book package Ebook Academic Collection (EBSCO) will be subscribed until the end of the year 2015. The package includes about 130 000 e-books from different disciplines. More news on the e-book package will be provided later on.

For more information: nelli@uef.fi

Kaarina Meriläinen
Tietoasiantuntija / Information Specialist
Verkkoresurssipalvelut / Online Recourse Services

Koekäytössä / Free trial: CINAHL Complete

CINAHL on yliopiston käyttöön hankittu kansainvälinen hoitotieteen ja hoitotyön viitetietokanta, joka sisältää myös terveydenhuollon hallintoa ja koulutusta käsittelevää aineistoa. Tietokantaan on linkitetty myös keskeisten hoitotieteellisten lehtien kokotekstiartikkeleita. Nyt CINAHLin laajempi versio CINAHL Complete on yliopistossa koekäytössä. Koekäyttö kestää lokakuun loppuun (31.10.2014) saakka.

CINAHL Complete sisältää viitetiedot 5 312 lehdestä (CINAHL: 3 084 lehdestä), ja kokotekstit 1 359 lehdestä (CINAHL: 70 lehdestä).

Lisätietoja

Siirry palveluun: CINAHL Complete

Anna palautetta CINAHL Complete -koekäytöstä

Kysy lisää koekäytöstä: nelli@uef.fi

Cinahl Complete v2
CINAHL is a reference tool covering the English language journal literature for nursing and allied health disciplines. Database contains mainly references and also fulltext journal articles. CINAHL is subscribed by university library, and now we have organized a free trial of more extensive version of CINAHL, CINAHL Complete. The trial is open until the end of October (31.10.2014).

The number of journals included in CINAHL Complete is 5,312 (in CINAHL: 3,084), and the number of full-text journals is 1,359 (in CINAHL: 70).

More information

Jump to the CINAHL Complete

Give feedback about the trial of CINAHL Complete

Ask more about the trial: nelli@uef.fi

Kaarina Meriläinen
tietoasiantuntija / Information Specialist
Verkkoresurssipalvelut / Online Resource Services

Frequently asked questions 6 – What do we need all these databases for when we have Google?

Questions:

  • What is the purpose of all the different databases when there is Google?
  • Why should I learn to search different databases and portals when I could just Google it?
  • Why is not Google enough?

Some answers:

  • The Internet has improved the availability of information and publications. Search engines like Google make searching easy but do they also make finding easy when a search result is counted in millions?
  • The large amount of information and its diversity make it difficult to find the right information.
  • The quality and level of the information a search engine can find is varied – anything from discussion forums to scholarly publications and from advertisement to encyclopedias. There is no quality control.
  • Information on the Internet is scattered in bits and pieces, and not organized in a comprehensive way like in the subject databases.
  • The search result of Google is random and different in different situations and for different searchers, and not systematic or reproducible.
  • In the Internet, anyone can present oneself as an expert. There is necessarily no peer review before publication.
  • All information is not in the Internet – at least not for free.

google upside down

By: Tuulevi Ovaska, Head of Services, Kuopio University Hospital Medical Library, University of Eastern Finland Library